[caption id="attachment_6545" align="alignnone" width="213"] Via Getty Images[/caption]The NFL Players Association announced yesterday their five finalists for the Byron "Whizzer" White Man of the Year Award.  The Byron White award honors players for their work both in the community and on the field.Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten is known for his play on the football field but others know him for his countless community work in the Dallas/Ft.Worth area.

  • Jason Witten's SCORE Foundation was established to provide support and assistance for families and individuals in the area that were affected by domestic violence.
  • In 2010 Witten's foundation launched a new domestic violence prevention program called “Coaching Boys Into Men” in high schools in Arlington, Texas. The program trains coaches to educate their players on the dangers of dating violence. 
  • Jason and his wife Michelle also funded construction of a brand new Jason Witten-themed emergency waiting room at The Children’s Hospital at Johnson City Medical Center in Johnson City, Tenn.
Jason Witten is also a finalist for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award.Jason witten2The other finalists for this award are Bears cornerback Charles Tillman, Browns tight end Benjamin Watson, Steelers quarterback Charlie Batch, and Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway.The winner of the award will get $100,000 for their charity. Below is the list of previous winners of the Byron White award.Season   PlayerPositionTeam
2011Drew BreesQuarterbackNew Orleans Saints
2010Tony RichardsonFullbackNew York Jets
2009Nnamdi AsomughaCornerbackOakland Raiders
2008Brian DawkinsSafetyPhiladelphia Eagles
2007Warrick DunnRunning BackAtlanta Falcons
2006John LynchSafetyDenver Broncos
2005Steve McNairQuarterbackTennessee Titans
2004Peyton ManningQuarterbackIndianapolis Colts
2003Derrick BrooksLinebackerTampa Bay Buccaneers
2002Troy VincentCornerbackPhiladelphia Eagles
2001Mark BrunellQuarterbackJacksonville Jaguars
2000Michael McCraryDefensive EndBaltimore Ravens
1999Doug PelfreyKickerCincinnati Bengals
1998Cris CarterWide ReceiverMinnesota Vikings
1997Hardy NickersonLinebackerTampa Bay Buccaneers
1996Chris ZorichDefensive TackleChicago Bears
1995Billy BrooksWide ReceiverIndianapolis Colts
1994Derrick ThomasLinebackerKansas City Chiefs
1993Mark KelsoSafetyBuffalo Bills
1992Nick LoweryKickerKansas City Chiefs
1991Reggie WhiteDefensive EndPhiladelphia Eagles
1990Mike KennTackleAtlanta Falcons
1989Ozzie NewsomeTight EndCleveland Browns
1988Mike SingletaryLinebackerChicago Bears
1987Deron CherrySafetyKansas City Chiefs
1986George MartinDefensive EndNew York Giants
1985Nat MooreWide ReceiverMiami Dolphins
1984Reggie WilliamsLinebackerCincinnati Bengals
1983Rolf BenirschkePlacekickerSan Diego Chargers
1982Doug DiekenTackleCleveland Browns
1981Franco HarrisRunning BackPittsburgh Steelers
1980Ken HoustonSafetyWashington Redskins
1979Gene UpshawGuardOakland Raiders
1978Roger StaubachQuarterbackDallas Cowboys
1977Archie ManningQuarterbackNew Orleans Saints
1976Lyle AlzadoDefensive EndDenver Broncos
1975Jim HartQuarterbackSt. Louis Cardinals
1974Rocky BleierRunning BackPittsburgh Steelers
1973Floyd LittleRunning BackDenver Broncos
1972Andy RussellLinebackerPittsburgh Steelers
1971Ray MayLinebackerBaltimore Colts
1970Kermit AlexanderDefensive backLos Angeles Rams
1969Gale SayersRunning BackChicago Bears
1968Eddie MeadorSafetyLos Angeles Rams
1967Willie DavisDefensive EndGreen Bay Packers
1966Bart StarrQuarterbackGreen Bay Packers